top of page

Country Music Awards


Country music awards are an annual event celebrating the achievements of country singers. It is held by the Country Music Association, first held in 1967. The award show has been broadcast on television since 1968.​


The show has been hosted by prominent country stars Glen Campbell, Loretta Lynn, and Dolly Parton. The award show is held in November at the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tennessee.

The first Country Music Awards were held in 1967 at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, Tennessee, where they have remained. The CMA was founded in 1958 by Jimmie Rodgers (the father of country music), Bob Neal (who worked at WSM radio station), and Fred Rose (who worked at Acuff-Rose publishing company). They wanted to create an organization that would promote country music artists across America and gives them recognition for their work.

The awards were presented in several categories, including a new artist of the year, a male vocalist, and a female vocalist. The show also honored artists who have made significant contributions to country music, including Merle Haggard and George Jones, with special awards. CMT Music Awards honors the best in the country music industry. The show is produced to celebrate the accomplishments of musicians and give fans an exciting and unforgettable experience. At the Municipal Auditorium, the world's largest fan-voted awards show returned to Nashville on April 11, 2022. This was the most recent time the award occurred, marking its 57th audition.

The following categories are also awarded:

  • Entertainer of the Year – given to the artist who has had a successful year in entertainment.

  • Vocal Duo of the Year – given to a duo or group with a successful year in entertainment.

Are you interested in taking a private charter jet to your next Event? Use Code "ELM" for special pricing.

concert charter jet.jpg
bottom of page